Zimbabwean Kirsty Coventry, new member of the IOC Executive Board; Faisal al Hussein of Jordan, re-elected


Prince Faisal al Hussein of Jordan has been re-elected as a member of the Executive Board of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) at the 141st session of the body in Bombay (India), while Zimbabwean swimmer Kirsty Coventry has been elected for the second time.

Faisal Al Hussein, a member of the Executive Board since 2019, has been re-elected for a second four-year term. Coventry, winner of seven Olympic medals and Minister of Sports of Zimbabwe, was already part of the Executive between 2018 to 2021 in her capacity as president of the IOC Athletes Commission, and is now elected for four years.

For her part, the Moroccan Nawal El-Moutawakel, the first woman from an Islamic country to win an Olympic medal by winning gold in the 400 meters hurdles in Los Angeles 1984, ends her time in office, which she has held since January 1 of 2020. Previously, he had already been part of the Executive Committee from 2008 to 2012.

In the same session, and after a vote, seven IOC members who were reaching the end of their eight-year mandate, following their election or re-election in 2015, were re-elected. Moroccan Nawal El-Moutawakel, the first woman from an Islamic country to win an Olympic medal when she won gold in the 400-meter hurdles in Los Angeles 1984; Prince Albert II of Monaco; and the Grand Duke of Luxembourg will begin another eight-year term.

Taking into account the age limits (80 years for those elected before December 1999 and 70 years for those elected after that date), the Ukrainian Valeriy Borzov was re-elected to serve until the end of 2029; the Swedish Gunilla Lindberg, until the end of 2027; Pakistani Syed Shahid Ali, until the end of 2026; and the Serbian Nenad Lalovic, until the end of 2028.

In addition, the extension of the mandate for four years of two IOC members was approved: the Dominican Luis Mejía and the Argentine Gerardo Werthein. On the other hand, the Irish Patricia O’Brien was re-elected to the Ethics Commission.