Starting this Thursday, Madrid will host the VW Beach Pro Tour for the fourth consecutive year


The Beach Volleyball Center at the Puerta de Hierro Sports Park in Madrid will host the VW Beach Pro Tour between May 9 and 19, the world beach volleyball circuit, which stops in the Spanish capital for the fourth consecutive year.

The men’s event will take place from May 9 to 12, while the women’s event will take place from May 16 to 19. Moreno-Sanfélix, Viera-Saucedo, Matos-Aba and Feltrer-Pérez will be the male couples participating in the tournament, in which pairs from more than 20 countries land.

In the women’s tournament there will be the current champions, Liliana Fernández and Paula Soria, as well as the Madrid native Belén Carro, back in the arena, along with Sofía González, two players who already know what it means to win in Puerta de Hierro. The U-18 European champions Sofía Izuzquiza and Marta Carro will also participate with Carolina Fernández Da Silva and Adriana Serrano, respectively, and the duo formed by Nazaret Florián and Aina Munar.

In addition, between May 13 and 15, in the same venue, the preliminary phase of the Nations Cup will be held in men’s and women’s categories. The Spanish couples best positioned in the FIVB ranking will participate in this competition; Herrera-Gavira and the Huerta Brothers, and Moreno-Álvarez and Liliana-Paula. The objective will be to access the Final Phase in Latvia and get closer to the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, since the winning team will get a direct ticket to the event.

The facilities of the Beach Volleyball Center of the Puerta de Hierro Sports Park hosted the presentation event this Monday. The institutional event was attended by Virginia Blázquez and María Cabezón, deputy general director of Sports Programs and head of the General Directorate of Sports of the Community of Madrid, respectively; Borja Fanjul, president councilor of the Moncloa-Aravaca District; Javier García Romero, vice president of the Madrid Volleyball Federation; and Belén Carro, representing the athletes who will fight for gold in the Madrid arena.