Real Madrid, Iniesta, Barça and Valentín will be awarded this Monday at the National Sports Gala in Albacete

Minister Pilar Alegría, Rodríguez Uribes and Javier Tebas, among the authorities who will be at the event organized by the AEPD


Real Madrid, author of its fifth League and Champions League double this Saturday at Wembley, the footballer Andrés Iniesta, the female FC Barcelona, ​​the former weightlifter Lydia Valentín and the former athlete Ruth Beitia will be awarded at the Association’s 43rd National Sports Gala Spanish Sports Press (AEPD), which takes place this Monday (7:00 p.m.) at the Teatro Circo de Albacete.

The event will be attended by the Minister of Education, Vocational Training and Sports, Pilar Alegría; the first vice president of the Junta de Castilla-La Mancha, José Luis Martínez Guijarro; the mayor of Albacete, Manuel Serrano; and the presidents of the Higher Sports Council (CSD), José Manuel Rodríguez Uribes; from LaLiga, Javier Tebas; and from the Spanish Paralympic Committee (CPE), Miguel Carballeda.

Andrés Iniesta, scorer of the goal that gave the Spanish team the title of world champion in South Africa in 2010, will be recognized for his sporting career and will unveil a sculpture in his honor on Monday morning (11:45 a.m.) next to the stadium Carlos Belmonte. Rodríguez Uribes and the general director of ADO, Jennifer Pareja, will attend this inauguration.

The AEPD Gala will also recognize the women’s and men’s soccer and water polo teams, the artistic swimming team, Real Madrid and the Olympic runner-up team in basketball in Los Angeles’84, the pilot Cristina Gutiérrez and the former cyclists Dori Ruano and Joane Somarriba.

The award for best coach will go to Antonio Vadillo for his continued success in Europe with Palma Futsal and referee Guadalupe Porras will be honored after becoming the first woman to be an assistant in a men’s Champions League match.

In addition, the importance of advancing conciliation and sport will be highlighted with a special award for the paratriathlete Eva Moral, and Minister Pilar Alegría will reward the former Olympic champions Lydia Valentín and Ruth Beitia, among other national athletes who participated in the Games.