Germany, Switzerland and Ukraine, rivals of Spain in the Nations League

Germany, Ukraine and Switzerland will be the rivals of the Spanish National Team in the second edition of the UEFA Nations League, which will be held in the months of September, October and December This year, as decided by the draw that was held this Tuesday in Amsterdam. The final phase, in which the four champions of League A will participate for the conquest of the title, the days will be disputed June 2, 3 and 6, 2021 and the relegation playoffs, in March 2022. UEFA has changed the initial format from three teams per group to four, so the number of games per team goes from four to six.

Germany, four times world champion and three in Europe, appears as the great rival for first place, despite the fact that in the previous edition of the Nations League he was a colista of his group, in which the Netherlands and France were also, and not descended thanks to the change of format of the competition. Spain has scheduled a friendly with Germany on March 26 at the Wanda Metropolitano.

Switzerland was first in the group and played the play off for the title, although it fell in the semifinals with host Portugal (3-1).

The Nations League too will influence the qualification phase for the Qatar World Cup, to which, in Europe, the ten champions of the ten classification groups will attend. The ten seconds and the two group winners of the Nations League would play two playoffs to determine the other three teams qualified for Qatar 2022.

The champions of leagues B, C and D will ascend to the immediately previous one and the last ones of groups A, B and C will descend to the immediately inferior one.

This was the draw:

League A

Group A1: Poland, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Italy, Holland

Group A2: Iceland, Denmark, Belgium, England

Group A3: Croatia, Sweden, France, Portugal

Group A4: Germany, Ukraine, Spain, Switzerland

League B

Group B1: Romania, Northern Ireland, Norway, Austria

Group B2: Israel, Slovakia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group B3: Hungary, Turkey, Serbia, Russia

Group B4: Bulgaria, Republic of Ireland, Finland, Wales

League C

Group C1: Azerbaijan, Luxembourg, Cyprus, Montenegro

Group C2: Armenia, Estonia, North Macedonia, Georgia

Group C3: Moldova, Slovenia, Kosovo, Greece

Group C4: Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Belarus, Albania

League D

Group D1: Malta, Andorra, Latvia, Faroe Islands

Group D2: San Marino, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar

This is the competition calendar

Day 1: September 3-5, 2020

Day 2: September 6-8, 2020

Day 3: October 8-10, 2020

Day 4: October 11-13, 2020

Day 5: November 12-14, 2020

Day 6: November 15-17, 2020

Final phase: June 2, 3, 6, 2021

Play-offs for the descent: 24, 25, 28, March 29, 2022