David Alonso wins in Moto3 and takes the lead from Dani Holgado

Iván Ortolá and José Antonio Rueda get on the podium in the small category in Montmeló


The Colombian rider David Alonso (CFMoto) has won this Sunday the victory in the Moto3 race of the Catalunya Grand Prix, the sixth round of the motorcycle World Championship, ahead of the Spanish Iván Ortolá (KTM) and José Antonio Rueda (KTM), a result that allows him to take the lead from Dani Holgado (GasGas), sixth in Montmeló.

With his fourth victory of the season, eighth of his life, Alonso managed to regain first place in the World Championship, which he had already enjoyed after his victory in the first Grand Prix of the season. With this, he dominates the overall drivers’ standings with 118 points, 14 more than Holgado from Alicante.

Poleman Ortolá retained his privileged position once the traffic lights went out, while Holgado rose from ninth to second position at the start. However, just a couple of laps later, the Dutchman Collin Veijer (Husqvarna) took the lead.

They were vibrant first laps in which the lead changed hands, with Holgado leading from lap 5 and Ortolá replicating. The two Spaniards and the Dutchman swapped their positions and, behind them, a large group of about 12 units waited for any misstep from those in front.

Veijer seemed to settle into first place after the eighth lap, while Holgado and Alonso fought their particular battle for the lead of the World Championship, exchanging overtakes. The Colombian rider, at track record pace, assumed the lead of the race on lap 11 and tried to pull with Ortolá and Veijer at his wheel and Holgado, José Antonio Rueda (KTM), David Muñoz (KTM) a little behind. behind.

On the last lap, Rueda joined the leading trio and overtook the Dutchman to get on the podium, led by Alonso followed by Ortolá. In addition, Muñoz completed the ‘Top 5’ and Holgado had to settle for sixth place.

Among the rest of the Spaniards, Adrián Fernández (Honda) closed his participation tenth, Ángel Piqueras (Honda) was twelfth, Joel Esteban (CFMoto) finished fourteenth and Xabi Zurutuza (KTM), nineteenth. Finally, David Almansa (Honda) failed to finish the race due to a fall.