Why is there so much confusion with the signs of the Zodiac? Yours may not be the one you think

  • It is believed that a person's personality varies according to their sign
  • Ophiuchus appeared among the original Zodiac signs
Image: iStock

Everyone knows that according to the date on which a person was born, a Zodiac sign is assigned. Each of them influences a person's personality and way of acting, but not everyone believes that this is possible. Even so, each person knows what their zodiac symbol is, and yet the thing can change after a fact that we have long passed.

In ancient times, realizing that around the sun the same constellations crossed the sky and believe that their position affected human behavior, experts determined that according to the date on which a person was born would have one sign or another. As a consequence, 12 signs of the Zodiac were determined, the same number of signs that there are at present, but that are not the same as at that time.

Among the original signs of the Zodiac was Ophiuchus. The problem that this sign is currently unknown is due to the desire of a famous historical figure. Julio César wanted to have his own sign and from there Libra was born. However, to include it the number of signs amounted to 13 and from that time that number was bad luck. To solve it, they removed Ophiuchus to return to his initial number of 12.

To this fact it must be added that, when determining the dates that mark a sign of the Zodiac, the equinoxes must be taken into account and how the appearance of constellations varies over time. So as a consequence, the signs of the Zodiac are not what we really think. Each sign belongs to the following dates:

Aries: From April 19 to May 14

Taurus: From May 14 to June 21

Gemini: From June 21 to July 21

Cancer: From July 21 to August 11

Leo: From August 11 to September 16

Virgo: From September 16 to October 31

Pound: From October 31 to November 23

Scorpio: From November 23 to November 29

Ophiuchus: From November 29 to December 18

Sagittarius: From December 18 to January 19

Capricorn: From January 19 to February 16

Aquarium: From February 16 to March 12

Pisces: From March 12 to April 19