The clubs of the first Women’s Professional Football League, which begins next week, will be able to count on nine non-EU players this first campaign, a number that will be reduced over the following two years.

According to sources from the Higher Sports Council (CSD) to Europa Press, its president, José Manuel Franco, signed a resolution this Friday that imposes a transitional period for non-EU soccer players of three years with the 9-5-3 scheme, with a maximum seven on the pitch in the first.

In addition, in this same resolution, which unlocks one of the most complicated points to be able to start the championship, the leader also informed both the Women’s League and the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) that the competition system will have 16 teams and that there will be two relegations and two promotions from the Second Division.

The same sources pointed out that Franco held a meeting last Wednesday with the president of the LPFF, Beatriz Álvarez, and the president of the RFEF, Luis Rubiales, and that another “technical” meeting was held this Friday to explore points of agreement and overcome the disagreements that continue to this day with a view to the correct development of the women’s league”.

These meetings between the employers and the federal entity will continue to take place next week at the CSD, which reaffirms its desire to reach “a global agreement that will serve as a boost to one of the best women’s leagues in the world.” “In any case, and making use of the powers and competences that the law grants it, the CSD will act in a timely manner to encourage the league to start with the certainties it deserves,” they remarked from the Council.