Spanish gymnast Melania Rodríguez, world champion in double minitramp

David Franco, runner-up in the men’s double minitramp

The day in Birmingham provides another Spanish silver in team trampoline


The Spanish gymnast Melania Rodríguez won the gold medal this Saturday in the women’s double minitramp (DMT) event during the 37th Artistic Trampoline World Championships, which is being held in Birmingham (United Kingdom), while her compatriot David Franco won silver in the men’s final.

Rodríguez finished second among the eight participants during the first round of her final, with a total score of 26,000 and falling behind the American Aliah Raga (26,100). Third was the Portuguese Diana Gago (25,700) and fourth was the American Grace Harder (25,600), setting the limit for the next round.

And in that ‘improvement’ with the four qualified gymnasts, the Spanish gymnast’s exercise received 26,300 points to win the gold medal. Second on the podium was Raga, with 26,200 points, and the bronze finally went to her compatriot Harder, with 26,100 points.

For his part, in the men’s DMT competition, Franco obtained 28,500 points in the first round of the final. With that record he was the fourth worst in the ‘improvement’, since the American Ruben Padilla (30,600), the Portuguese Tiago Sampaio Romao (29,000) and the Canadian Gavin Dodd (28,900) had been ahead.

However, the Spaniard later showed a great performance and achieved a score of 29.300 in the second round; Only Padilla (30,600) was able to surpass that mark with his performance. Sampaio Romao completed the final podium with his bronze, having received 23,600 points.

Finally, in the team trampoline events, Melania Rodríguez herself came fourth alongside Noemí Romero, Erica Sanz and the substitute Noa Puente-Dodd; Spain achieved seven overall points there, just behind a podium that was taken in this order by China (15 pts.), France (10 pts.) and Georgia (7 pts. as well).

And to close the day, the Spanish delegation smiled with the silver medal in the men’s final. David Vega, Jorge Martín and Robert Vilarasau, with David Franco in reserve, received nine overall points to finish ahead of the United Kingdom (9 pts., but worse ratings). The gold was awarded to France, with 12 points in its baggage.