Peleteiro, Mechaal and Asier Martínez reign on the final day in Ourense


Ana Peleteiro, in triple jump; Asier Martínez and María Vicente, in 60 meters hurdles; Adel Mechaal and Esther Guerrero, in 1,500 meters; Mariano García and Lorea Ibarzabal, in 800 meters; Óscar Husillos and Eva Santidrián, in 400 meters; Adrià Alfonso and Esther Navero, in 200 meters; José Ángel Pinedo, by weight; and Isidro Leyva, in pole vault, have been proclaimed national champions in the 60th edition of the Spanish Short Track Championship, which was held in Ourense.

In the women's triple jump final, Peleteiro, bronze in Tokyo 2020, won her eighth title -2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023- thanks to a great mark of 14.32. The Galician started with a very good jump of 14.19, and in the fourth attempt she reached 14.32, the best Spanish mark of the year.

The Guipuzcoan Naroa Furundarena got on the podium in the fifth jump with 12.81 and won the silver, and the Sevillian Ana Estrella de León, a first-year U-18, got the bronze with 12.73.

In the men's 60 meter hurdles, the Navarrese Asier Martínez won the expected one-on-one with the Valencian Enrique Llopis by stopping the clock at 7.53, compared to the 7.58 of his rival, silver. The bronze went to Carlos Osés from the Balearic Islands, with a personal best of 7.71.

In the women's competition, the Catalan María Vicente reigned with a time of 8.06, a personal best, equaled best mark of the year and sixth Spanish athlete of all time. Her time allowed her to surpass the defending champion, also Catalan Xènia Benach (8.21) and Carmen Sánchez from Madrid (8.26).

Thus, Vicente, who came to Ourense to compete in three events in preparation for the pentathlon at the World Cup in Glasgow, takes home a gold medal and another bronze. It is his first title in hurdles and fifth in total.

In the 1,500 meters, Esther Guerrero (4:21.81) triumphed for the fifth time in the category thanks to a last 1,000 in 1:05 and a new change with 150 meters remaining, which was enough for her to surpass Marta Pérez (4:23.33 ). The Catalan Marina Martínez (4:30.16) took the bronze.

In the men's event, the victory was awarded to Adel Mechaal, who completes his double after winning yesterday in the 3,000 meters. The Catalan soon took the lead and hit the ax with 400 meters to go (3:43.37) to win his fourth title in the distance and the twelfth in total, the active athlete with the most Spanish short track champion titles. Carlos Saéz (3:44.48) and Mario García Romo (3:44.56) completed the podium.

Madrid's Lorea Ibarzabal revalidated her 800 meters title (2:05.99), the third of her career, ahead of Lorena Martín from Salamanca and Catalan Zoya Naumov, a distance in which Mariano García from Murcia won in men (1 :47.27), who added his second win against the Cantabrian Mohamed Attaoui and the Galician Adrián Ben.

For her part, Eva Santidrián took the victory in the 400 meters with a 52.70, which is a personal best and the best Spanish record of the year, while Óscar Husillos from Palencia gave his rivals no option (46.56) and won his fifth title in the distance.

In the 200 meters, the Catalan Adrià Alfonso revalidated his title as Spanish champion achieved last year in Madrid, with the Granada-born Daniel Rodríguez and the Guipuzcoan Andoni Calbano taking silver and bronze, while the Madrid-born Esther Navero took her first winding.

Finally, in the men's weight class, José Ángel Pinedo surprised Carlos Tobalina and was proclaimed national champion, and in the men's pole vault, the Andalusian Isidro Leyva defended his title with a mark of 5.45 in his second attempt and has already won three champion titles.