NBA: The changes of the All-Star: tribute to Kobe, a zero draw in each room and no clock in the last period | NBA 2019



LeBron James and Kobe Bryant, during an All-Star.

The NBA today announced the new format for the All-star next February, to be held in Chicago and that will also serve for the entire league to pay tribute to Kobe Bryant, recently deceased in a helicopter accident.

Adam Silver, commissioner of the competition, wants with this “increase the competitive level“of an event that over the years has passed from an exhibition game and almost a correcalles de mates without much sense.

The changes include a new format for the last quarter, which will honor Kobe Bryant. The two teams, captained by Giannis Antetokounmpo and LeBron JamesThey will compete to win each of the first three quarters of the match, which will start all 0-0 and last twelve minutes. At the beginning of the last quarter, the clock will turn off and the goal will be what the NBA has called 'The goal of final scoring'(Final Target Score), which will be determined by the score that the best team has up to that point plus 24 points added, paying tribute to Kobe, who wore 8 and 24 during his career. The teams will play until either of them reaches that figure. For example, if at the end of the third quarter the cumulative result of both teams is 100-90, the final figure that one of the two sets must reach to win would be 124. Without minimum or maximum time.

Fans have received these changes with some reluctance. A tribute to Bryant was requested, and the most commented idea was that a team played with the number '8' and another with the '24', but finally the NBA has opted for a slightly more rocambolesque version.

The NBA will donate more than one million dollars to the Chicago community, in addition to other donations to charities. The teams will receive $ 100,000 for winning one of the first three quarters, and the winner of the match will take 200,000. All towards charities.

The Party of the Stars will be played at dawn February 16 at the United Center in Chicago.


Like last year, Antetokounmpo and LeBron James will be the captains of each team and they will be responsible for making their templates among the chosen players. They will do it on a televised show in the early hours of Thursday, February 6. Remember that East vs. West is no longer played. Giannis and LeBron will first choose the four partners for the initial quintet and then the seven who will complete each template. James, who has been the most voted player during this month, will choose first.

The stars, holders and alternates, who will dispute the All-Star are:


Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee)

LeBron James (Los Angeles Lakers)

Anthony Davis (Los Angeles Lakers)

Luka Doncic (Dallas)

Joel Embiid (Philadelphia)

James Harden (Houston)

Kawhi Leonard (LA Clippers)

Pascal Siakam (Toronto)

Kemba Walker (Boston)

Bring Young (Atlanta)


Bam Adebayo (Miami)

Jimmy Butler (Miami)

Rudy Gobert (Utah)

Brandon Ingram (New Orleans)

Nikola Jokic (Denver)

Damian Lillard (Portland)

Kyle Lowry (Toronto)

Khris Middleton (Milwaukee)

Donovan Mitchell (Utah)

Chris Paul (Oklahoma City)

Domantas Sabonis (Indiana)

Ben Simmons (Philadelphia)

Jayson Tatum (Boston)

Russell Westbrook (Houston)

According to the criteria of

The Trust Project

Know more