Mendy and Kanté return to France for the Euro Cup

Mbappé leads a French list with the injured Tchouaméni, Coman and Maignan


The France coach, Didier Deschamps, announced this Thursday the squad list for this summer’s Euro Cup with the news of the return to the French team of Real Madrid player Ferland Mendy and Al-Ittihad player N’Golo Kanté.

‘Les Bleus’ will seek to shake off the elimination in the round of 16 of the last EURO 2020 with a guaranteed team led by striker Kylian Mbappé. Despite the rumor about the future of the Parisian star, who has already announced that she will not continue at PSG, the world runner-up entrusts herself to the talent of her great striker and a very recognizable team despite her youth.

Also on the list are, as could not be otherwise, the Atlético de Madrid player Antoine Griezmann and the former FC Barcelona player Ousmane Dembélé, from a PSG that mainly monopolizes the offensive part of the call. Aurélien Tchouaméni’s injury opened the door for Kanté who, at 33 years old, has had a good season in Saudi Arabia, after a complicated period also due to an injury that prevented him from participating in the World Cup in Qatar.

The 2018 world champion (53 international caps) had not worn the tricolor shirt since June 2022, during a defeat against Denmark in the Nations League. Meanwhile, Mendy’s call-up marks the international return of the Real Madrid left-back from September 2022. In addition, Deschamps called up the young PSG forward Bradley Barcola, 21, for the first time.

The coach himself warned in a press conference that he is optimistic that the injured Tchouaméni, Kingsley Coman and Mike Maignan will recover in time from the final list to UEFA on June 7, which is why they entered his plans. Lucas Hernández, victim of a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee, is ruled out.


Goalkeepers: Alphonse Areola (West Ham), Mike Maignan (AC Milan), Brice Samba (Lens).

Defenders: Jonathan Clauss (Marseille), Theo Hernandez (AC Milan), Ibrahimovic (Liverpool), Jules Kound (FC Barcelona), Ferland Mendy (Real Madrid), Benjamin Pavard (Inter), William Saliba (Arsenal) and Dayot Upamecano (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Youssouf Fofana (Monaco), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), N’Golo Kante (Al-Ittihad), Adrien Rabiot (Juventus), Aurelien Tchouaméni (Real Madrid), Warren Zaire-Emery (PSG).

Strikers: Bradley Barcola (PSG), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Ousmane Dembele (PSG), Olivier Giroud (AC Milan), Randal Kolomuani (PSG), Kylian Mbappe (PSG) and Marcus Thuram (Inter).