Guevara commands the Spanish treble in Jerez and García Dols establishes himself as leader of Moto3

Castellon and Masià complete the podium


The Spanish rider Izan Guevara (GasGas) has won the Moto3 race of the Spanish Grand Prix, the sixth round of the Motorcycle World Championship, with a spectacular overtaking on the last lap that has allowed him to lead the entirely Spanish podium in Jerez along with Sergio García Dols (GasGas), who is even more leader in the championship, and Jaume Masià (KTM).

With the first Spanish triplet of the course, the rider from Palma becomes the fifth different winner in six races, all after overtaking the until then leader of the race, the Turkish Deniz Öncü (KTM), in the last lap of the Jerez track.

For his part, García Dols, with his second position, consolidates himself at the head of the World Championship overall with 103 points, 21 more than the Italian Dennis Foggia (Honda), who this Sunday finished outside the points -eighteenth-, 30 more than his teammate Guevara (73) and 33 than Masià (70), who signed his third consecutive podium.

In an incident-free start at the Jerez-Ángel Nieto Circuit, the World Championship leader took the lead after overtaking his teammate and Saturday’s poleman in the first few corners. Jaume Masià (KTM), who started third, joined them to take first place a few laps later, before the dance of positions began.

The Spanish trio and the Brazilian Diogo Moreira (KTM) rode alone during the first stage, but their slowdown allowed the group to expand to six riders and later to nine, with Xavi Artigas (CFMoto) in front.

Only six -Masià, García Dols, Artigas, Guevara, the Turkish Deniz Öncü (KTM) and the Japanese Ayumu Sasaki (Husqvarna)- remained with options until the end, in which Öncü took the initiative. However, the Ottoman was surprised in the last corner by a ‘Spanish gale’ that weighed him down to fourth place.

As for the rest of the Spanish, Xavi Artigas (CFMoto) finished fifth, Dani Holgado (KTM) was ninth, Iván Ortolá (KTM) thirteenth, Gerard Riu Male (KTM) twentieth and Ana Carrasco (KTM) twenty-third. Neither Carlos Tatay (CFMoto) nor Adrián Fernández (KTM) managed to finish the race.