Grant Dalton and the America’s Cup, protagonists this Tuesday at the EP Sports Breakfasts


The CEO of the America’s Cup, Grant Dalton, and the latest news about the most prestigious sailing regatta in the world, whose next edition will be held in Barcelona in 2024, will be the protagonists this Tuesday (10:00 am) of the Sports Breakfasts of Europa Press, event to be held at the NH Collection Eurobuilding in Madrid.

The New Zealand sailor and director of Emirates Team New Zealand, defending champion, will talk about the sporting expectations and the impact that the America’s Cup will generate in Barcelona, ​​whose bay will host the regattas of the 37th edition of the ‘Hundred Guineas Trophy’ between August and October of next year.

This forum is the sixth of the fifteenth season of the ‘Sports Breakfasts’, sponsored by DAZN, Loterías y Apuestas del Estado, UnicajaBanco and Vithas, after the first president of the Professional Women’s Football League (LPFF), Beatriz Álvarez, inaugurated it in December, and the subsequent ones by the then president of the RFEF Luis Rubiales and Francisco Blázquez, president of the RFEBM, in February and April.

Likewise, the president of the Royal Spanish Athletics Federation (RFEA), Raúl Chapado, and the athletes Raquel González and Mario García analyzed the national team’s options at the end of July before the World Cup in Budapest, where Spain finished in a historic third place. in the medal table.

And previously, the president of Sport&Business, Alicia Garrido, and Marta Figueras-Dotti, president of the Ladies European Tour, addressed the celebration, for the first time in Spain, of the Solheim Cup, which Europe achieved this Sunday at Finca Cortesín , in Casares (Málaga), the milestone of his third consecutive victory.

Last year, the president of the Spanish Paralympic Committee (CPE), Miguel Carballeda, participated; that of the RFEBM, Francisco Blázquez; that of LaLiga, Javier Tebas; and the then national women’s soccer coach, Jorge Vilda, along with the recent world champions Alexia Putellas, two-time Ballon d’Or winner, Patri Guijarro and Irene Paredes.

The then president of the CSD, José Manuel Franco, did the same, presented by the Minister of Culture and Sports, Miquel Iceta; the president of the International Triathlon Federation and member of the IOC, Marisol Casado, the president of the Spanish Rowing Federation, Asunción Loriente, and the president of FUTPRO, Amanda Gutiérrez; and the director of the Spanish Commission for the Fight against Doping in Sports (CELAD), José Luis Terreros.

In previous years, Jorge Vilda himself and the internationals Amanda Sampedro, Mariona Caldentey and Silvia Meseguer attended before going to the World Cup in France. Subsequently, under the title of ‘Motor, with ‘M’ for woman’, the pilots Ana Carrasco, first female world champion in Supersport 300, participated; Sara García, world champion in casualties; Tatiana Calderón, the first woman to participate in Formula 2, and Marta García, the only Spanish driver in the WSeries.

The president of the CPE, Miguel Carballeda; Teresa Perales, the Spanish athlete with the most medals (27) in the Paralympic Games and Princess of Asturias Sports Award in 2021; the athlete Gerard Descarrega, Paralympic, world and European champion in 400 meters; and the cyclist Ricardo Ten, world champion in track and road and bronze in Tokyo, offered an x-ray of Paralympic sport before the initial postponement of Tokyo 2020 due to the pandemic.

Under the title, ‘Repsol, 50 years of support and triumphs in motor sport’, Carlos Sainz, two-time world rally champion and three-time Dakar champion and 2019 Princess of Asturias Sports Award winner; Jorge Martínez ‘Aspar’, quadruple motorcycle world champion and named ‘MotoGP Legend’; and Toni Bou, thirty-three-time trial world champion, analyzed the causes that have placed Spain as a world power in motorcycling and motorsports.

The president of the Royal Spanish Winter Sports Federation (RFEDI), May Peus; The head of Women and Snow at the RFEDI, Paula Fernández-Ochoa, the rider Regino Hernández, bronze in the PyeongChang 2018 Games, and the Olympic skier Juan del Campo spoke about the legacy of Blanca Fernández-Ochoa.

And the general manager of the Movistar Team, Eusebio Unzué, the former cyclists Pedro ‘Perico’ Delgado, Ángel Arroyo and Pablo Lastras and the former road cycling world champion Alejandro Valverde reviewed the 40 years of successes ‘From Reynolds to Movistar’.


In previous campaigns, the main protagonists of national and international sports have paraded through the ‘Sports Breakfasts’, such as managers of clubs, sports organizations and entities and athletes and former athletes from multiple disciplines.

Among them, the first president of the CSD, María José Rienda, her predecessors Jaime Lissavetzky, Albert Soler, José Ramón Lete and Miguel Cardenal, and the predecessors, Irene Lozano and José Manuel Franco; the presidents of the AFE, David Aganzo, of the ACB, Antonio Martín, and Jorge Garbajosa, now president of FIBA ​​Europe.

Likewise, the president of the Board of Directors of Real Valladolid, Ronaldo Nazario; that of Atlético de Madrid, Enrique Cerezo, and the now president of FC Barcelona, ​​Joan Laporta, and the former Real Madrid coach Ramón Calderón, the former national football coach Vicente del Bosque and the former Liverpool and Real Madrid coach Rafa Benítez.

This sports agora was occupied by presidents of national federations, the then president of the Sportsmen’s Association (AD) Cayetano Martínez de Irujo, the Olympic champions Lydia Valentín and Carolina Marín; the drivers Marc Márquez, Dani Pedrosa, Jorge Lorenzo, Maverick Viñales, Álex Crivillé, and the ’12+1′ times world champion Ángel Nieto; Marc Coma and Stephane Peterhansel, ‘Monsieur Dakar’; the swimmers Rafa Muñoz, Aschwin Wildeboer and Mireia Belmonte, the ‘synchronists’ Ona Carbonell and Raquel Corral, and the golfer Miguel Ángel Jiménez.

The general director of MAPFRE in the Volvo Ocean Race (VOR), Pedro Campos, the skipper of the Spanish challenge, Xabi Fernández, and the crew members Támara Echegoyen, the first Spanish in the history of the regatta, and Joan Vila, considered as the best navigator in the world; and the world champion selectors José Vicente ‘Pepu’ Hernández, Paco Antequera and Javier Lozano, president of the National Futsal League (LNFS).

There was no shortage of former cyclists Miguel Indurain, five-time Tour champion; Alberto Contador, double winner of the Giro and Tour and three-time champion of La Vuelta; Joaquim ‘Purito’ Rodríguez; and the best Spanish athlete and basketball player of all time, Fermín Cacho and Amaya Valdemoro.

The former mayor of Madrid Alberto Ruiz-Gallardón, and the former CEOs of the Madrid 2016 and Madrid 2020 Olympic bids, Mercedes Coghen and Víctor Sánchez, analyzed the project options for the capital of Spain to host the second Games in the country.


Representatives of international organizations were also at the ‘breakfasts’ such as the then vice president of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), the Spanish Juan Antonio Samaranch Salisachs; the former London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Legacy Ambassador, Lord Sebastian Coe, current president of World Athletics, former IAAF; the former Ambassador of the United Kingdom to Spain Giles Paxman; the former General Director of the Volvo Ocean Race (VOR) Knut Frostad, and the former Deputy General Director of ASO Yann Le Moenner.

In addition, the Extraordinary Secretary of Security for Major Events of Brazil, Andrei Augusto Passos, the former Executive Director of the Euroleague, Jordi Bertomeu, the Ambassador of France in Spain, Yves Saint-Geours, and the NBA vice president for EMEA, Jesús Bueno , appear on the list of participants.