Canet wins pole position against Acosta in Moto2 and Holgado will start third in Moto3

Öncü rules in Moto3 and Holgado will start third


The Spanish rider Arón Canet (Kalex) has won pole position this Saturday for the Moto2 race of the Italian Grand Prix, sixth round of the Motorcycle World Championship, ahead of his compatriot Pedro Acosta (Kalex), while the Turkish Deniz Öncü ( KTM) has guaranteed the first starting position for the Moto3 event in the midst of a festival of sanctions, which will allow Dani Holgado (KTM) to start third.

On a muggy day despite the clouds in Mugello, Canet imposed his 1:50.796 to lead the time table, all despite suffering a crash in turn 3. Thus, he surpassed the mark of the Murcian, who dominated all the training sessions and that became the wheel to follow during Q2.

The man from Mazarrón, second in the intermediate displacement championship after Tony Arbolino (Kalex), was one tenth and a half behind Corbera, and the British Sam Lowes (Kalex) will complete the first starting line on the transalpine track.

Among the rest of the Spaniards, the Boscoscuro of Fermín Aldeguer and Alonso López will start in eighth and ninth position, respectively, while Manu González (Kalex) and Jeremy Alcoba (Kalex) will start the event eleventh and twelfth.

In addition, Albert Arenas (Kalex) will start fifteenth and Sergio García Dols (Kalex) will do sixteenth. Izan Guevara (Kalex) will start twenty-fourth, just ahead of Borja Gómez (Kalex), and Marcos Ramírez (Forward) will start the race twenty-seventh.


In Moto3, the Turkish Deniz Öncü (KTM) took the privileged position ahead of the Australian Joel Kelso (CFMoto) and the Japanese Ayumu Sasaki (Husqvarna), although the numerous penalties imposed will mean that the grid will undergo a considerable change.

The Ottoman, leader throughout the weekend and with a time of 1:56.020 in qualifying, will continue to lead at the start, but it will be Sasaki and the Spanish Dani Holgado (KTM) -fifth in Q2- who will accompany him in the first row.

Up to eight riders have been penalized and forced to start from the back of the grid and complete a ‘long lap penalty’ in Sunday’s race for lapping slowly in different sessions of the weekend: the Spaniards Xavi Artigas (CFMoto), Iván Ortolá (KTM), Vicente Pérez (KTM) and David Salvador (KTM), the Italians Stefano Nepa (KTM) and Luca Lunetta (KTM), the Brazilian Diogo Moreira (KTM) and Joel Kelso.

Thus, Jaume Masià (Honda) will finally start sixth, José Antonio Rueda (KTM) will do thirteenth, Ana Carrasco (KTM) twentieth and the rest of the Spaniards penalized, from the end of the grid.