An almost exclusive preserve of Barça and Real Madrid

The Spanish League is almost a monopoly of Barça and Real Madrid. This is what the numbers say from the doubles achieved by Basque football in the 1980s. Real Sociedad won the regular tournament in the 1980-81 and 1981-82 seasons and Athletic in the next two, 1982-93 and 1983 -84, with a very young Javier Clemente at the head of the San Mamés bench.

Since then, the League has become an almost exclusive preserve for azulgranas and meringues. The former have won it 17 times, while the latter have done so on another 14.

read also

Atlético has added three wounds in this period of 37 campaigns (1995-96, 2013-14 and 2020-21), Valencia two (2001-02 and 2003-04) and Deportivo one (1999-00). One thing seems clear, Real Madrid and Barcelona have to fail at the same time for one of the other teams that make up the second squad to have any chance of becoming champion.

Last season, for example, he won the whole of the Cholo Simeone, who visits San Mamés tomorrow, with two points of rent over the whites and seven over the Catalans. The fourth in contention was Sevilla. In this course, Real Madrid is already the virtual champion. He only needs to add a point to be mathematical