Ajax wins its 36th league title after defeating Heerenveen


Ajax Amsterdam has been proclaimed champion of the Eredivisie for the thirty-sixth time in its history thanks to a resounding 5-0 victory against Heerenveen, with one matchday remaining in the Dutch championship.

The team coached by Erik ten Hag was on track for victory very quickly and after half an hour they were already winning 2-0 with goals from Tagliafico and Berghuis. Before the break, Haller scored from a penalty and in the second half, Brobbey and Edson Álvarez completed Ajax’s win.

Those from Amsterdam, with a four-point advantage over PSV Eindhoven, win their second League in the last three seasons – 2019/20 was suspended due to COVID – and continue to lead the Eredivisie record ahead of PSV (24) and Feyenoord (15).