“One of the VAR's biggest failures, Messi's penalty should have been repeated”

“One of the VAR's biggest failures.” For Iturralde González the penalty thrown and missed by Messi had to have been repeated because Verratti invades the semi-circle of the area before time: “The penalty would have to be repeated because the one who enters is Verrati, who enters through the center and goes ahead of the shot, giving him the rebound and clearing for a corner. That is, it is one of the VAR's biggest failures. You have to look at the improper entrance of Verrati, who is five feet inside and is the one who clears. And they have only noticed the doorman. ” This is explained by the VAR protocol: “Overtaking of an attacker or defender who participates directly in the game if the penalty bounces off a post, the crossbar or the goalkeeper”.

In addition, Barcelona complained about three controversial plays at PSG-Barcelona. The first was the penalty awarded to Lenglet for stomping on Icardi. Referee Anthony Taylor went to the VAR and signaled the maximum penalty. For Iturralde González, an analyst at AS and SER, there were no doubts: “Penalty steps on him in a dispute for the ball, he steps on it from behind and a penalty. In the first leg De Jong was blocked when he was running and it was a penalty. You can't run from behind.”

Barcelona Shield / Flag

Barcelona also claimed a fall in the first half of Dest in dispute with Keylor Navas but nothing was pointed out and the VAR did not see anything punishable either. “There is a clash with Keylor but there is nothing”, stated Iturralde González in 'Carrusel Deportivo'. If Kurzawa's penalty was pointed out to Griezmann before the end of the first half: “Silly penalty and penalty. And it is not a second card for the PSG player because it is not reckless but reckless entry”, Iturralde González explains. “The regulation says that it is a second yellow if within the area it is a clear goal opportunity, but this action is not.“, Iturralde clarifies on the possible second yellow card to the French, that would have supposed his expulsion and that the culé bench claimed.

Another of the controversial plays was the possible second yellow card forgiven to Mingueza. In the first he saw the yellow for grabbing and hitting Mbappé lightly in the face. Then in the 27th minute he touched the second yellow but for Iturralde the warning was not necessary. In the second half, there was a possible hand from Marquinhos within the French area but it was “Messi hand”, pointed out the arbitration analyst from AS and SER.