Completed the last day of the qualifying round to go to Qatar World Cup, we already know the teams that will have to continue fighting to be able to attend the 2022 appointment.

The Netherlands – first in the group after beating Norway – was the last team to win a direct ticket for the World Cup, joining Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Denmark, Croatia, England and Germany.

For their part, other 12 selections will have to fight for the last three European places in a hellish repechage.

Portugal, Scotland, Italy, Russia, Sweden and Wales are part of the Pot 1 at lottery that UEFA will celebrate the next day November 26. All of them pass as series caps and will play at home in a single match semifinals.

At Pot 2 There will be another 6 teams: Poland, North Macedonia, Turkey and Ukraine -the ‘worst’ second in groups-; to which Austria and the Czech Republic join via Nations League.

How does the repechage work?

The play-off for the World Cup changes this year in format and will adopt a ‘final four’ type. The 12 repechage teams will have to overcome a semifinal and a final – both in a single match – to be in Qatar 2022.

The draw will have three groups, with ‘semis’ and final in each of them to choose the three teams that will go to the World Cup.

The members of Pot 1 will act as locals in the semifinals, but a new draw will have to be made to see which teams play at home in the finals.

When is the repechage played?

The European play-offs will be played between March 24 and 19, 2022. On 24 and 25 the 6 semifinals will be played and on the 28 or 29 the three finals.

Teams already classified

Germany, Denmark, Belgium, France, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, the Netherlands and Switzerland

Teams to play-off

Portugal, Scotland, Italy, Russia, Sweden and Wales
Poland, North Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, Austria and the Czech Republic

Qatar World Cup Qualifiers

Qatar World Cup Qualifiers