The board of directors of the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) has approved this Saturday the official recognition of the President of the Republic Cup-Free Spain Cup competition and has awarded the Levante Football Club the distinction of champion of the year 1937, in addition to also recognizing the Real Club Deportivo de la Coruña the title of the 1912 Spanish Contest.

The board, meeting this Saturday in Malaga in the run-up to the qualifying match for the 2024 Euro Cup between Spain and Norway at La Rosaleda (8:45 p.m.), thus approves the proposal, at the request of President Luis Rubiales.

The President of the Republic Cup-Spain Cup was played in Barcelona on July 18, 1937 between the teams of Valencia and Levante Football Club, the latter being the winner.

“Levante Unión Deportiva and the Federation of the Valencian Community informed the RFEF, in 2019, of a series of events of a sporting nature to request recognition of the title, always recognizing the RFEF the exceptionality of the moment and the context of civil war in which the tournament took place”, explained the RFEF, which indicated that “the FIFA agreements of November 6 and 7” were taken into consideration, held in Paris, as well as “the agreements adopted by the highest body of the world football in Calcutta October 2017”.

In the same way, the board has also recognized the official status of the Concurso de España competition and has awarded the Real Club Deportivo de la Coruña the title of champion of the year of 1912. “Likewise, all the documentation provided has been analyzed and taken into account the linked reports from experts in the historical field of football,” said the federative body.