The eleven of Athletic who won the last Cup final

Athletic has the opportunity tomorrow to remove a thorn that has lasted 37 years. The period in which they have not won a Cup title. The rojiblancos won their last trophy of the KO tournament in 1984, in the final played against Barça on May 5 at the Santiago Bernabéu.

The rojiblanco team led by Javier Clemente had just won the League a week before thanks to the victory against Real Sociedad in San Mamés (2-1, with two goals from Iñigo
Liceranzu). The 'Rubio' had granted three days of celebration to his players, who faced the Madrid event without any pressure, knowing that they already had the regularity championship in their hands, the second in a row after the one achieved a year earlier.

The one from Barakaldo lined up an eleven formed by Zubizarreta in goal, Urkiaga, Liceranzu, Goikoetxea Y Nunez in defence, Patxi
Salinas, From
Andrew Y Urtubi ahead with Dani, Argote Y Endika as attackers. Sarabia replaced Endika in the 60 'and Galician to Argote at 86 '.

Endika scored the winning goal in the 14th minute of the game, which ended with a regrettable final tangana

Endika scored the winning goal in minute 14 'after having had another chance minutes before in a Vaseline attempt that stopped Urruti. Argote he crossed with his ‘bad’ leg, his right, the striker lowered the ball with his chest and beat the goalkeeper to do the goal that would definitely give victory to the rojiblancos. He has gone down in history as the scorer of the goal that gave the lions the last title.

Menotti He left with a team made up of Urruti, Sanchez, Alexanco, Migueli, July
Alberto, Victor, Schuster, Carrasco, Red, Maradona Y frames. The Argentine coach only made one substitution, Clos for Rojo in the 63rd minute.

The chronicle published by World
Sports collects the data that 100,000 spectators attended the white coliseum, with 90 million revenue in a game that put the sign of “no tickets.” The proportion of Athletic fans was three-four to one with respect to those of Barça. Up to 30,000 pesetas were paid at resale. The match ended with an unfortunate tangana between players from both teams.