It was already a sure thing, but last night the ATP made it official that Novak Djokovic has made sure to finish the year as world number one in your FedEx ATP ranking. It is the sixth time he has finished the season at that position, equaling Pete Sampras' all-time record. The already known absence of Rafa Nadal in the Sofia Open box, published yesterday, guaranteed the one to Djokovic.

At 33 years old, 'Nole' becomes the oldest tennis player to end the year in this way. Having finished as number one a total of six times in the last ten years (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2018), Serbian ties with one of his childhood idols, American Pete Sampras, which also did so consecutively between 1993 and 1998.

In this way, the tricephaly of world tennis, composed of Nadal, Djokovic and Federer, has finished the year with one of the members of the 'Big Three' as number one 16 times in the last 17 years (Only Andy Murray in 2016 broke that dominance). Nadal has done it five times, and the Swiss as many.

The year started with Nadal as number one, but one day after the Australian Open final, in which 'Nole' beat Dominic Thiem, the Serbian rose again as world leader. “Sampras has always been an example for me when I was growing up, so matching his mark is a dream come true. I will continue to fight to be a better player, I hope to have many more successes and break more records in a sport that I love with all my heart. “Djokovic commented in statements provided by the ATP.

Number one of the ATP at the end of the year

2020 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2019 Rafael Nadal (Spain)

2018 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2017 Rafael Nadal (Spain)

2016 Andy Murray (UK)

2015 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2014 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2013 Rafael Nadal (Spain)

2012 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2011 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2010 Rafael Nadal (Spain)

2009 Roger Federer (Switzerland)

2008 Rafael Nadal (Spain)

2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland)

2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland)

2005 Roger Federer (Switzerland)

2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland)

2003 Andy Roddick (USA)

2002 Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)

2001 Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)

2000 Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil)

1999 Andre Agassi (USA)

1998 Pete Sampras (USA)

1997 Pete Sampras (USA)

1996 Pete Sampras (USA)

1995 Pete Sampras (USA)

1994 Pete Sampras (USA)

1993 Pete Sampras (USA)

1992 Jim Courier (USA)

1991 Stefan Edberg (Sweden)

1990 Stefan Edberg (Sweden)

1989 Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)

1988 Mats Wilander (Sweden)

1987 Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)

1986 Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)

1985 Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)

1984 John McEnroe (USA)

1983 John McEnroe (USA)

1982 John McEnroe (USA)

1981 John McEnroe (USA)

1980 Bjorn Borg (Sweden)

1979 Bjorn Borg (Sweden)

1978 Jimmy Connors (USA)

1977 Jimmy Connors (USA)

1976 Jimmy Connors (USA)

1975 Jimmy Connors (USA)

1974 Jimmy Connors (USA)

1973 Ilie Nastase (Romania)