The European Championship is already here. A little over a month before the start of the tournament, the 28 players who choose to be in England were announced. From Iberdrola’s headquarters in Madrid, Jorge Vilda announced the pre-list. The great novelty is Salma Paralluelo, a Villarreal player of Equatorial Guinean descent who is only 18 years old. Maite Oroz and Claudia Zornoza, both from Madrid, are left out.

The staff will begin to work with those 28 players mentioned and then finalize the final list at the end of the month. Only 23 internationals will travel to England to represent Spain in the European Championship, so five will have to be ruled out. They make their debut against Finland on July 8, on the 12th they face Germany and on the 16th they close the group stage against Denmark. Two friendlies for the Spanish team are scheduled beforehand: against Australia (June 25 at the Nuevo Colombino) and another that is yet to be defined, probably outside of Spain.

As could be verified with the preliminary list, Vilda has a base of players with a guaranteed position. They are untouchable for Madrid. From the goal trio, the four defenders, the midfield formed by the 3 Blaugrana and the forward, with Jenni, Mariona or Athenea who have a guaranteed place.

With the season over, Spain gets to work. It will be in the second week of June when they will start working in the Ciudad del Fútbol de Las Rozas. First, it’s time to disconnect the soccer players, especially those who come from playing the Copa de la Reina. Barça, the team that contributes the most players, was proclaimed Champion of the Queen’s Cup on Sunday against Sporting de Huelva. After an intense season in the Iberdrola League, the time has come to dream of La Roja.

Complete list of 28 players:

Porteras: Sandra Paños, Lola Gallardo and Misa Rodríguez

Defenses: Irene Paredes, Mapi León, Ivana Andrés, Andrea Pereira, Leila Ouahabi, Ona Batlle, Olga Carmona, Laia Aleixandri, Sheila García and Ainhoa ​​Vicente.

Midfielders: Patri Guijarro, Alexia Putellas, Aitana Bonmatí, Irene Guerrero and Teresa Abelleira.

Front: Jenni Hermoso, Mariona Caldentey, Athenea del Castillo, Esther González, Amaiur Sarriegi, Nerea Eizagirre, Marta Cardona, Claudia Pina, Lucía García and Salma Paralluelo.