Ortolá dethrones Veijer in a heart-stopping finale and Muñoz closes the Moto3 podium


The Spanish rider Iván Ortolá (KTM) snatched victory this Sunday in the last lap from the Dutchman Collin Veijer (Husqvarna) in the Moto3 race of the Dutch Grand Prix, the eighth round of the Motorcycle World Championship, in which David Muñoz (KTM) was third, while the Colombian David Alonso (CFMoto) has reinforced his lead despite finishing fifth.

The Valencian, who had led the race until the halfway point, waited for his opportunity and attacked the local idol in the last chicane, with a few meters left before seeing the checkered flag. In a ‘photo finish’ finish, he signed his first victory of 2024 – he had not won since the 2023 Spanish Grand Prix – by only 12 thousandths.

In addition, David Muñoz finished on the podium ahead of José Antonio Rueda (KTM), while David Alonso was fifth and strengthened his lead in the small category; the Colombian now has 154 points, 39 more than Veijer, now second after beating the Spaniard Dani Holgado (GasGas) in the general classification, who could only finish eleventh this Sunday and fell to third position.

Although poleman Ángel Piqueras (Honda) defended his position at the start, Ortolá, who started fourth, only took a few laps to move up to first place. Meanwhile, the two main title contenders, Colombian David Alonso (CFMoto) and Dani Holgado (GasGas), began their comeback after starting thirteenth and fifteenth respectively.

As the laps went by, both managed to catch on to the leading group, made up of ten riders and led by Ortolá until, with ten laps to go, the local rider, Collin Veijer (Husqvarna), managed to take the lead.

The Dutchman seemed to be getting away, but on the last lap, at the final chicane, the Calincant rider emerged to pass him and beat him to the finish line by just 12 thousandths. Muñoz rounded out the podium in Assen.

Among the other Spaniards, Adrián Fernández (Honda) finished seventh, just ahead of Piqueras, while Joel Esteban (CFMoto) finished fifteenth and Xabi Zurutuza (KTM), nineteenth.