Tennis Australia, in collaboration with local authorities, has decided to divide the Melbourne Park facilities into three zones as a security measure within the anti-COVID protocol for the ATP 250, WTA 500, ATP Cup and Australian Open tournaments, which will take place in the capital of Victoria between the months of January and February of this 2021. Depending on the ticket they have purchased, viewers will be able to choose the area in which they want to see each event. This was announced by the Australian Federation in a statement.

The action will begin in Oceania on January 31, with men's and women's double tournaments and will culminate on February 19 with a third WTA 250 championship for players who do not participate in the Australian Open or are prematurely eliminated from the first Grand Slam of the course.

Parallel to this measure, the necessary protocols are carried out to guarantee the safety of all people and not just tennis players. Ensuring the smooth running of these events is one of the organizers' priorities. In addition to the senior tournaments, other ITF junior tournaments will be organized in the zone, while the preliminary phases of the major aussie teams will take place in Doha (ATP) and Dubai (WTA). In addition, there will be a wheelchair tennis competition from February 8-11 also in Melbourne.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.