Tennis Australia has released more details about the Melbourne Summer Series tournaments on Thursday, which will be held in parallel with the ATP Cup from January 31 to February 6 and will serve as a prelude to the Australian Open.

The organization has announced that there will be two ATP 250 tournaments and two WTA 500 tournaments that will distribute more than two million in prizes. They have also revealed the names of each of the tournaments: Gippsland Torphy and Yarra Valley Classic for the WTA and Great Ocean Road Open tournaments and Murray River Open for the two ATP 250 tournaments.

Both the men's and women's tournaments will bring together a luxury cast, although with most of the great figures of the men's circuit in the ATP, the protagonism will fall mainly on women's competitions, where Naomi Osaka, Sofia Kenin, Serena Williams, Victoria Azarenka, Angelique Kerber, Bianca Andreescu, Petra Kvitova and Iga Swiatek will play, among others, in addition to the return to competition of the world's number 1, Australian Ashleigh Barty.

On the other hand, in the two men's tournaments we will be able to see figures such as David Goffin, Karen Khachanov, Cristian Garín, Stan Wawrinka, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Grigor Dimitrov or the Australian Nick Kyrgios, who like Ashleigh Barty will compete again after almost a year without doing so.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.