Fermín López and Alex Baena lead the Spanish list for Paris 2024


The Olympic football coach, Santi Denia, announced this Wednesday the list of 18 players who will compete in the Paris Olympic Games, in which the presence of Fermín López and Álex Baena stands out, the only ones present at the Euro 2024 that will be is playing in Germany.

The Villarreal and FC Barcelona midfielders are the main figures on Santi Denia’s list for Paris 2024 and the only ones who will ‘double’ this summer with the Euro Cup and the Olympic Games.

In the call of 22 players, of which only 18 will participate in the event and four will attend as reserves, the presence of Girona center back Eric García also stands out, who participated in the last World Cup in Qatar with the senior team, and who will play his second Olympic Games, as has Juan Miranda (Betis), while defender Pau Cubarsí (FC Barcelona) has entered, who fell from the Absolute pre-list for the Euro Cup.

Those chosen by Santi Denia will gather on July 1 at the Ciudad del Fútbol facilities in Las Rozas (Madrid), where they will prepare prior to the Paris event. On July 17, the expedition will travel to the French town of Bordeaux to play a preparation match against the United States Olympic team the following day.

The next day they will travel to Paris, where they will debut on the 24th against Uzbekistan at the Parc des Princes in the French capital. They will then move to Bordeaux, home of their next two matches in the group stage: on July 27, against the Dominican Republic and on July 30, against Egypt. The three games will be played at 3:00 p.m.


GOALKEEPERS: Arnau Tenas (PSG), Joan García (Espanyol) and Alejandro Iturbe (Atlético de Madrid B).

DEFENSES: Juanlu Sánchez (Sevilla), Eric García and Miguel Gutiérrez (Girona), Pau Cubarsí (FC Barcelona), Jon Pacheco (Alavés), Juan Miranda (Betis), Cristhian Mosquera (Valencia) and Marc Pubill (Almería).

MIDFIELDERS: Alex Baena (Villarreal), Adrián Bernabé (Parma), Aimar Oroz (Osasuna), Beñat Turrientes (Real Sociedad) and Pablo Barrios (Atlético de Madrid).

FORWARDS: Sergio Gómez (Manchester City), Fermín López (FC Barcelona), Diego López (Valencia), Sergio Camello (Rayo Vallecano), Abel Ruiz (Benfica) and Samu Omorodion (Alavés).