The council of Conmebol, meeting this Wednesday, October 27, 2021, defined Colombia as the venue for the 2022 Copa América Femenina, tournament to be played between July 8 and 30. It is the first time that the country has hosted this women’s football competition.

The CONMEBOL Copa América Femenina is played in Colombia! The CONMEBOL Council resolved to assign the organization of this tournament to the Colombian Football Federation, which will institute an additional prize of USD 500,000 to be distributed among the participating teams “announced Alejandro Domínguez, president of the confederation.

The FCF also spoke out once the council was over, it did so through an official statement on its website. Ramón Jesurún, president of the entity, affirmed that it will work hand in hand with the National Government to respond in the best way.

“This will be the first time we organize this championship, which shows the Federation’s commitment to the development and growth of women’s football in Colombia. «For the Executive Committee, it is an immense pride to receive that vote of confidence from CONMEBOL. We will make all our efforts together with the National Government to organize this championship with the highest international standards and thus demonstrate that Colombia has the capacity to host world-class tournaments », said the president of the FCF, Ramón Jesurún Franco”, says part of the Federation communiqué.

Three direct places to the World Cup in Australia-New Zealand

The Copa América Colombia 2022 will give three places to the next Women’s World Cup to be held in Australia and New Zealand. The champion team, the runner-up and the third-place winner will qualify directly.

The fourth and fifth teams will have another chance in a playoff with 8 other teams. of different confederations. 2 from the Asian Football Confederation (AFC), 2 from the African Football Confederation (CAF), 2 from the North American, Central American and Caribbean Football Confederation (CONCACAF), 1 from the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) and 1 from the European Union of Associated Soccer (UEFA).