Alexia, Craviotto and Real Madrid, among the winners at the National Sports Gala in La Nucía

The former president of the RFEF Ángel María Villar will be the speaker on Tuesday at the AEPD congress


The soccer player Alexia Putellas, the palista Saúl Craviotto and Real Madrid will be awarded this Monday at the XLII National Sports Gala of the Spanish Sports Press Association (AEPD), which will be held, starting at 7:00 p.m., in the pavilion of the Camilo Cano Sports City in La Nucía (Alicante).

The AEPD will reward the most outstanding athletes, federations and clubs in 2022 at this event, which will be broadcast by Teledeporte. by Julián Redondo, who in 2023 has the collaboration of the town council and the Alicante Provincial Council.

The winners include FC Barcelona footballer Alexia Putellas, twice winner of the Ballon d’Or; the European and World Karate champion in the kata modality, Sandra Sánchez; the athlete Raquel González, European runner-up in the 35-kilometre walk; Paralympic swimmer Michelle Alonso, triple Paralympic champion, who has announced her withdrawal from high competition.

The world champions of canoeing that make up the Spanish K-4 will also be awarded: Saúl Craviotto, Carlos Arévalo, Marcus Cooper and Rodrigo Germade; the Spanish men’s basketball team for winning the Eurobasket for the fourth time in its history and the water polo teams, the men’s team for its third world gold medal in Budapest and the women’s team, for revalidating the European title in Split.

As for the soccer clubs, Real Betis, champion of the Copa del Rey, will be recognized; and Real Madrid, winner of the Champions League and LaLiga Santander. FC Barcelona will also be recognized by the ‘Champions’ titles in handball and futsal.

The Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) will be awarded for the world titles of the U-20 and U-17 women’s teams, and the Royal Spanish Skating Federation (RFEP) for the medals won at the World Championship in Argentina.


Cycling will have a special role due to the recognition of Abraham Olano, the first Spanish world champion in history; Óscar Freire, the only Spanish rider to have won the rainbow jersey three times; and Samuel Sánchez, the only Spanish road cycling Olympic gold medalist, achieved at the Beijing Games in 2008.

One of the most special awards, the Human Values ​​award, will go to coach Andrea Fuentes for her rescue of synchronized swimmer Anita Álvarez, who fainted during her exercise at the Swimming World Cup and was left unconscious at the bottom of the pool. .

The Sports Medicine award will go to Ángel Ruiz-Cotorro, doctor of Rafa Nadal and of the Royal Spanish Tennis Federation (RFET); while the Loyalty Trophy will go to El Corte Inglés, the longest-running sponsor of the AEPD.

Likewise, José Luis Mendoza, president of the UCAM, who died last January, will be honored for his commitment to Spanish athletes and their training.

After the event, around 9:00 p.m., the guests and winners will go to the Muixara de La Nucía Pavilion to celebrate the traditional gala dinner.


On the other hand, on Tuesday, March 28, the LIX National Congress of the Spanish Sports Press Association (AEPD) will be held at the Auditori de La Nucía, which will bring together a hundred sports journalists from all over Spain.

During it, a presentation by the former president of the Royal Spanish Football Federation, Ángel María Villar, is scheduled.